Norway to reopen borders from July 15, with restrictions

bergen norway

The Norwegian government has revised its coronavirus travel restrictions allowing people from many European (EU/EEA/Schengen) countries including the UK to visit Norway with no quarantine requirements from July 15.

However, residents of Portugal, Hungary, Croatia, Romania, Bulgaria and Luxembourg remain excluded due to the high rate of infection in those countries. With the exception of residents of Kronoberg, Skåne and Blekinge, Sweden also remains excluded.

Norway’s Minister of Trade and Industry Iselin Nybø said the move was “good news” for Norway’s tourism industry. “Tourism companies across the country can now receive guests from a number of countries in Europe again. The opening will provide greater income to the companies and get more people back to work.”

The news also means that Norwegians will be able to take summer vacations in Mediterranean hotspots such as France, Spain, Italy and Greece without having to undergo home quarantine on their return to Norway, Forbes has said in a report.

While the restrictions will be lifted from July 15, assessments will continue every 14 days. This means anyone booking a trip faces an element of uncertainty should the infection rate increase in their country.

Tourists from non-EU/EEA/Schengen countries remain unable to visit Norway, although there is an exemption for business travel and students.

People from any country who hold a work or residence permit in Norway can enter the country although they will be subject to a 10-day period of home quarantine. The same rules apply for students set to begin a course in the 2020/21 academic year and workers with an employment contract, the Forbes report added.