Spain to welcome travellers from outside European Union from June 30


People travelling from outside of the EU and the Schengen area will be able to visit Spain from June 30. Transcontinental non-essential travel to Spain from outside of Europe has been given the green light by the Spanish government, following the EU’s recommendation for member states to gradually reopen their borders from June 15 onwards.

Tourists from the USA and Canada, Latin America, Africa, Oceania and Asia will in theory be able to book their holidays to Spain from that day, although the announcement published in Spain’s daily government bulletin states that restrictions on holidaymakers from outside of the EU and Schengen area have been extended until midnight on June 30th rather than explicitly announcing that international tourism is fully restarting. 

The news comes two days after Spain opened its borders to tourists from all other Schengen and EU countries as well as the UK, without the previous requirement for new arrivals to spend 14 days in quarantine. The only exception is neighbouring Portugal, for which the land border will remain closed until July 1.

Spain’s government has decided to allocate more than 4.2 billion euros in an effort to revive the tourism sector, which has been devastated by the Coronavirus pandemic (COVID-19).

About 12% of the country’s GDP is dependent on the tourism sector.