Tourism ministry sanctions 4 projects under Tribal Circuit theme

Ministry of Tourism said it has sanctioned four projects under the Tribal Circuit theme, one of the fifteen thematic circuits identified for development under Swadesh Darshan Scheme. Under the scheme, government has sanctioned the amount for two circuits being developed in Nagaland, one in Chhattisgarh and fourth one in Telangana.

Rs 97.36 crore and Rs 99.67 crore have been sanctioned for the development of Peren- Kohima- Wokha and Mokokchung-Tuensang-Mon Tribal Circuits in Nagaland respectively. For the development of Jashpur-Kunkuri-Mainpat- Ambikapur-Maheshpur-Ratanpur-Kurdar-SarodadadarGangrel- Kondagaon-Nathyanawagaon-Jagdalpur- Chitrakoot-Tirthgarh circuit in Chhattisgarh, the government has sanctioned Rs 99.94 crore. Telangana’s integrated development of Tribal Circuit – Mulugu-Laknavaram-Medavaram-Tadvai- Damaravi- Mallur-Bogatha Waterfalls received Rs 84.40 crore from the Tourism Ministry.

Under Swadesh Darshan Scheme, Ministry aims to develop tourism infrastructure in the country in a planned and prioritized manner on the principles of high tourist value, competitiveness, sustainability, enriching tourist experience and creation of livelihood opportunities at local level.

“The Ministry undertakes several promotional activities in the domestic and international markets for promotion of the varied tourism products and destinations of the country including tribal areas. The Ministry produces publicity material and collaterals in English and foreign languages; media campaigns are undertaken in the print and electronic media; familiarization tours for trade, media and opinion makers are undertaken from overseas to India under the Hospitality Scheme,” said K J Alphons, Minister for Tourism.