Ten tourism sites to be developed into iconic destinations: K J Alphons

Colva Beach, Goa

The Ministry of Tourism has identified ten prominent tourist sites for development into iconic tourist destinations in the country. The plan was announced during the Budget Announcements of 2018-19. The ministry has identified the sites based on the criteria of footfall, regional distribution, potential for development and ease of implementation.


The tourism sites which are selected for development are Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Ajanta and Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun Tomb, Qutub Minar and Red Fort (Delhi), Colva Beach (Goa), Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Somnath and Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), Hampi (Karnataka), Mahablipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

“The development of iconic tourist destinations will be implemented under the ongoing Swadesh Darshan Scheme of Ministry of Tourism. There is no separate allocation of funds for this project,” informed K J Alphons, Union Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism.