Taiwan to promote tourism on 10 offshore islands

Orchid Island

Taiwan’s Tourism Bureau launches ‘2018 Year of Bay Tourism’ to promote tourism on 10 offshore islands. The 10 offshore islands are: Turtle Island, Green Island, Orchid Island, Xiaoliuqiu, Qimei Island, Yuwongdao (Xiyu), Jibei Island, Lieyu Island, Beigan Island and Dongju Island.

Turtle Island

“Taiwan is an island country, but never before has the country systematically promoted tourism on its offshore islands with government involvement at the national level until now. Under the “Year of Bay Tourism” campaign, the central and local governments have collaborated with local industry operators, such as travel agencies and hotels, and worked out activities with strong local oceanic appeals,” said Joe Chou, Director General of Tourism Bureau.

The activities are not limited to the offshore islands, but are spilled over to cities off which the islands are located, so the economy of the coastal cities will also be benefited, Chou said, adding that more than 20 year-round activities have been planned out and the number will keep rising.

The press conference also unveiled the “Year of Bay Tourism” logo.