Travel logjam: Lock-down across 75 districts in the country, seven in Kerala

Indian railway

In a significant move to check the spread of the corona virus, the Union and State governments have decided to announce a lock-down in 75 districts across the country. In Kerala, the districts that will enter the shut down mode are Thiruvananthapuram, Pathanamthitta, Kottayam, Ernakulam, Malappuram, Kannur and Kasargod. Inter-state bus services have been suspended till March 31.

Railway services also have been suspended till March 31, including suburban rail services. Metro rail services have also been stopped. However, goods trains are exempted.

The decisions have been taken at a high level meeting attended by Chief Secretaries of all States and the Cabinet Secretary and the Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister. There is urgent need to extend the restrictions on the movement of non-essential passenger transport, a home ministry official said.

State governments will soon issue orders allowing only essential services to operate in the 75 districts which have been impacted by the corona virus outbreak.