Kumarakom, Hampi chosen as iconic tourist sites

The Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for developing them as iconic tourist sites, the Minister of State for Culture and Tourism, Prahlad Singh Patel has stated in a written reply in the Lok Sabha on Monday.

The 17 sites include the Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra), Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort & Qutub Minar (Delhi), Colva (Goa), Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Somnath & Dholavira (Gujarat), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), Hampi (Karnataka), Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu), Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

The Ministry will be developing the above sites in an integrated manner with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities/experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, involvement of local community, promotion and branding and by bringing private investment.

Availability of land free from all incumberances for the proposed developments under the scheme is the responsibility of the respective State Governments/UT administrations, the Ministry said.