Nehru Trophy boat race, Champions Boat League to be held on August 31

The tourism department of Kerala has decided to conduct the 67th edition of the Nehru Trophy boat race and the first heats of the Champions Boat League, at Punnamada lake in Alappuzha on August 31, 2019. The NTB and CBL, which were first scheduled on August 10 was postponed considering the risk from the heavy rain and flood.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan is slated to inaugurate the race and the Champions Boat League (CBL) will to be flagged-off along with the Nehru trophy, with Cricketer Sachin Tendulkar as the chief guest cheering the crowds.

A total of 79 boats, including 23 snakeboats, are scheduled to participate in this year’s Nehru trophy. Of the total snakeboats, 20, including nine CBL teams, are to compete in the main race and the rest will be participating in the exhibition race. The boat race are planned in 6 heats with the CBL teams competing in the first three heats. Competitions are also scheduled to be held under Iruttu Kuthi ‘A’ , Iruttu Kuthi ‘B”, Iruttu Kuthi ‘C”, Veppu ‘A’, Veppu ‘B’, and Thekkanodi categories.

Twelve boat races under the CBL are scheduled be held between August and October, hoping to attract more tourists to the state.