Entries called for WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards 2019

The WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards 2019 have been launched. This year the awards will be of six categories and a panel of expert judges will select the finalists from across the six categories. The overall winners are to be announced at WTM London, on Wednesday 6th November, 2019 as part of WTM World Responsible Tourism Day.

This year’s categories are:

  1. Best for Benefitting local People
  2. Best for Wildlife & Nature Conservation
  3. Best for Reducing Plastic Waste
  4. Best for Reducing Carbon and Other Greenhouse Gasses
  5. Best for Transparent Reporting
  6. Best for Coping with Success, dealing with Overtourism

“The ambition of the WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards is to find and recognise examples of tourism businesses and organisations which are taking responsibility by reducing negative impacts and increasing the positive ones,” said Professor Harold Goodwin, responsible tourism advisor to WTM London, and chair of the judges.

Each category has a separate application questionnaire, all of which can be download from
Application forms will be available on line when nominations open on 2nd April 2019. Nominations close 29th July 2019.