Indian Railways to have a new zone – South Coast Railway


On the formation of Telengana state, Indian Railways was required to examine establishing a new railway zone in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh. The matter has been examined in detail in consultation with stake holders and it has been decided to go ahead with creation of a new zone with headquarter at Visakhapatnam.

The new zone named ‘South Coast Railway (SCoR)’, will comprise of existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada divisions.  It was announced by Piyush Goyal, Union Minister for Railways.

Accordingly, Waltair division shall be split into two parts. One part of Waltair division will be incorporated in the new zone i.e. in South Coast Railway and will be merged with the neighbouring Vijaywada division.

Remaining portion of Waltair division shall be converted into a new division with headquarter at Rayagada under East Coast Railway (ECoR). South Central Railway will comprise of Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded divisions.