‘Payippadan’ wins the 66th Nehru Trophy boat race

Payippadan has become the fastest snake boat (Chundan vallam) and winner in the 66th edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race (NTBR), which has taken place at Punnamada lake in Alappuzha today, 10th November 2018. Mahadevikad Thekkathil came second in the race.  Champakkulam and  Ayaparambu Pandi were the other boats competed in the final round. This is the fourth time Payippadan become winner in the Nehru Trophy

Anari of SNBC, Kainakari wins Chundan 3rd loosers final. Saint George of Brothers Boat Club, Edathua wins Chundan 2nd loosers’ final.

Chellikkadan, Kattil Thekkathil and Cumpini competed for Thekkanodi (Women) Kettu Vallam final. Cumpini emerged as winners.

Kodimatha of Malarvadi Boat Club comes first in Churulan category.

Gothurut Puthran of TBC, Cochin Town wins Iruttukuthi- B Grade finals, while Thuruthithara of T.B.C Cochin Town wins in the Iruttukthi A-grade final.

P.G. Karippuzha of Parippu Boat Club becomes winner in Veppu B grade, while Ambalakkadavan of Nattakam Boat Club wins in Veppu A grade.

Governer Sathasivam with Allu Arjun and wife Sneha Reddy

The 66th edition of the Nehru Trophy Boat Race was inaugurated by State Governor P Sathasivam. Actor Allu Arjun and Kerala Blasters team were also present at the venue to cheer up the oarsmen.

Earlier, Allu Arjun reached Kerala to a rousing welcome from fans. The star hero was there along with his wife Sneha Reddy. Allu Arjun and his wife were dressed in stylish white and flagged off the race. Later, he took to Twitter and thanked the Kerala government for giving him the prestigious opportunity.

“I thank the government of Kerala for inviting me and giving me the honour to wave the flag at the 66th Nehru Trophy Boat Race. I heart fully thank the people of Kerala for giving me this Honour. THANK YOU” he tweeted.