Tourism ministry sanctions Rs 426.02 crores for Tribal & Rural Circuits

The Ministry of Tourism has sanctioned Rs 426.02 crores for Tribal and Rural Circuit under Swadesh Darshan Scheme, said K J Alphons, Minister for Tourism. Tribal and Rural Circuits are among the fifteen thematic circuits identified for development under Swadesh Darshan Scheme.

“The projects under the scheme are identified for development in consultation with the State Governments/UT Administrations and are sanctioned subject to availability of funds, submission of suitable detailed project reports, adherence to scheme guidelines and utilization of funds released earlier,” said the minister. Based on above, Ministry has sanctioned projects under Tribal and Rural Circuit theme of Swadesh Darshan Scheme including Bihar and Telangana.

Rs 97.36 crore has been sanctioned for the development of Tribal Circuit Peren- Kohima- Wokha in Nagaland. Of which the government has released Rs 72.05 crore.

Development of Tribal Tourism Circuit in Jashpur-Kunkuri- Mainpat- Ambikapur- Maheshpur -Ratanpur- Kurdar-Sarodadadar- Gangrel- Kondagaon –Nathyanawagaon- JagdalpurChitrakoot- Tirthgarh in Chhattisgarh got Rs 99.94 crore and the ministry has released Rs 49.97 crore till now.

Rs 84.40 has been earmarked for the integrated Development of Mulugu- Laknavaram-Medavaram- Tadvai- Damaravi – Mallur – Bogatha Waterfalls as Tribal Circuit in Telangana. Around Rs 42.20 crore has been released for the project.

The ministry has released Rs 49.83 crore of the sanctioned Rs 99.67 crore regarding the development of Tribal circuit (Mokokchung– Tuensang-Mon) in Nagaland.

The only Rural circuit project, Development of Gandhi Circuit: Bhitiharwa – Chandrahia – Turkauliain Bihar received Rs 8.93 crore. The ministry sanctioned Rs 44.65 crore for the project.