IPL-model boat race in Kerala

The Kerala Tourism Department is all set to give a new face to the much-famed boatraces in Kerala. From this season onwards, the boatraces would be held in the IPL model,  which will include Nehru Trophy boat race at Punnamadakkayal in Alappuzha to the Presidents Trophy boat race in Kollam.

Christened as Kerala Boat Race League, the race will be conducted from 11 August 2018 to 1 November 2018. The decision was taken in a meeting convened by tourism minister Kadakampally Surendran.

The Nehru Trophy boat race will be considered as the qualifier and the league competitions will continue on its basis. There will be 12 matches in the league. The best nine snake boat performers from the Nehru Trophy will be selected for the race.

Punnamada, Pulinkunnu, Kainakari, Karuvatta, Mavelikkara, Kayamkulam, Piravom, Poothotta, Kottappuram, Thazhathangadi, Kalalda and Kollam are the venues for the KBRL race.

All the teams qualifying for the league will be awarded a bonus of Rs 4 lakh for each venue. The first three winners of each league match will be given Rs 1 lakh to Rs 5 lakh. The ultimate winners of KBRL will be awarded Rs 6 lakh to Rs 10 lakh.

However, the traditional boat races of Kerala will remain unaffected. Moolam, Neerettupuram, Aranmula, Payippattu and others are not included in the league. They will be held as usual. The race is scheduled so as to give international tourists the opportunity to witness the race.