WTTC declares ‘Tourism for Tomorrow’ Awards

World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC), has declared the ‘Tourism for Tomorrow Awards’ at a special function conducted at Buenos Aires in Argentina.

The awards are distributed under 5 categories in the travel and tourism industry namely – Community Award, which was bagged by Global Himalayan Expedition, India. Destination Award by Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association, British Colombia, Canada. Environment Award by Airport Authority Hong Kong. Innovation Award by Virgin Atlantic. People Award by Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, Costa Rica.

The highlights of the awards are based on the business practices, that supports people, planet and profits. Hence, the winners were chosen for this year work under the green protocol, which are important aspects of UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

“This year the ‘Tourism for Tomorrow Award’ finalists prove just how diverse and all-encompassing our sector’s commitment to sustainable growth is. The award categories are designed to demonstrate that every player in the Travel & Tourism industry has a role to play in driving the sector to a more responsible future,” said Gloria Guevara Manzo, President & CEO, WTTC.