Kenya Tourism to establish five regional councils



Ministry of Tourism, Kenya,  is to establish five regional tourism councils in January next year,  as part of the Tourism Recovery Strategy and for product diversification.

“The proposed five tourism council blocs include Rift Valley, the Lake Region, the Northern Region, Nairobi and the Coast and they will partner with the Kenya Tourism Board in promotion and marketing of the country’s vast tourist attractions,” said Najib Balala, Tourism Cabinet Secretary.

Drift Valley, Kenya

The move is expected to facilitate product diversification and intensify marketing of Kenya as an ideal tourist destination.  Kenya’s vast tourist attractions have already put her on the world tourism map as a renowned tour destination.

Balala said that the Ministry’s Tourism Recovery Strategy has been showing results and the country has seen tourist arrivals increase by 20 per cent. He also urged the tourism players to embrace technology and increase investments in digital marketing, in order to carve a niche as well as to cut marketing costs.

Plans are underway to formulate a digital marketing strategy that will see active use of the websites and social media to reach to the world.