India extends e-visa facility for citizens of 165 countries

As part the efforts to bring more tourists to the country, the government has extended e-visa facility for citizens of 165 countries. The e-visa facility is available at 25 airports and five seaports. It was informed by K J Alphons, Tourism minister, in the Lok Sabha.

“Government has launched the ‘Incredible India 2.0’ campaign, indicating a shift from generic promotions to market-specific promotional plans. A 24X7 toll free multi-lingual tourist helpline has also been put in place as part of the efforts” added Alphons.

To promote tourism in India, events such as ‘paryatan parv’ (tourism festival), International Buddhist Conclave and International Tourism Mart too have been organised.

The minister urged the state governments to take initiatives for organizing fairs, festivals and tourism-related events for the promotion of tourism, assuring support and financial aids from the part of the Union ministry.